Update: Voters approved the 10-year renewal of the Jonesville School District’s 18-mill non-homestead tax by a vote of 331 to 287.

JONESVILLE – Voters in the Jonesville Community School District are voting today on the 10-year renewal of the district’s 18-mill non-homestead tax that will apply only to non-homestead, industrial, commercial property. This millage does not apply to primary residences and most agricultural property.

This millage is a large part of the schools budget and would generate $890,605 this year.

The Jonesville School District includes the City of Jonesville, parts of Allen, Fayette, Hillsdale, Litchfield, Moscow, Scipio Townships, and part of Pulaski Township in Jackson County. All Jonesville School District voters in Hillsdale County will vote at the Jonesville Fire Department today.

Officials are expecting a large turn out.